Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances

18 Oct 2024, 7:30pm
Conservatorium Theatre, QCGU
2 hours
(including interval, subject to change without notice)

Available Discounts

Concession, Student, Groups

The Conservatorium Symphony Orchestra presents Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances, his final composition is a vibrant orchestral work in three movements. The piece reflects the composer’s mature style, blending lush Romantic melodies with 20th-century harmonic elements. The Symphonic Dances captivate listeners with their emotional depth, rhythmic vitality, and brilliant orchestration, leaving a lasting impression as one of Rachmaninov’s crowning achievements in the realm of orchestral music.

Also in the program is Rachmaninov’s beloved Piano Concerto No. 2, played by Reuban Tsang, winner of the Nancy Weir Best Australian Prize at the 2023 Sydney International Piano Competition.

Along with works by Mozart and Georges Lentz, the final major orchestral concert of the year is not one to miss.

Presented by Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University

You may also like