Hugo Wolf's Italian Songbook

25 Feb 2024, 4pm
Basil Jones Orchestral Hall, QCGU
1 hour 20 minutes
(no interval, subject to change without notice)

Available Discounts

Concession, Student

Hugo Wolf’s Italian Songbook is a pinnacle of solo vocal repertoire. Composed not as a song-cycle but as a diverse collection of miniatures, it is replete with masterful word-setting, vivid characterisations and brilliant keyboard writing. The anthology of poems, in German translations of short Italian folk lyrics, was compiled by Paul Heyse. Their brevity inspired a highly concentrated approach, with many delightful touches of humour as well as deep emotional insights.

Published in two books in 1891 and 1896, Wolf composed the 46 songs during three intensive bursts of creativity. The work is usually performed as a collaboration between two singers and a pianist, but on this occasion Soirées Musicales Quintette extends this approach to showcase the talents of each of its members. The Italian Songbook is rarely presented in its entirety, so this concert is a very special opportunity. It will be performed in German, with English surtitles.

Presented by Soirées Musicales Quintette


  • soprano Annie Lower
  • soprano Rachael Griffin
  • tenor Mattias Lower
  • baritone Leon Warnock
  • piano (Viennese instrument built 1843) Peter Roennfeldt

You may also like