Australian Chamber Orchestra Ilya Gringolts Plays Bruch

13 Feb 2023
Concert Hall, QPAC
2 hours
(including interval, subject to change without notice)
$49 - $115 *
* A transaction fee of $7.20 applies.

Available Discounts

Concession, Student, Youth, Groups

The electrifying Russian violinist returns to perform one of the most beloved Romantic violin concertos.

The Bruch violin concerto is one of the most popular romantic concertos, beloved for its drama, lyricism and passion. It’s an emotional journey from folk-inflected start to heart-swelling finish. After electrifying audiences with his Paganini in 2018, Ilya Gringolts returns to bring you Bruch, arranged for strings and timpani, and confirm his reputation as one of the most thrilling violinists on the planet.

Ilya’s virtuosity is equally at home in Frank Martin’s pivotal and spiritually uplifting 20th-century masterwork Polyptyque for violin and double string orchestra. This six-part meditation on episodes from Christ’s life was written for Yehudi Menuhin. Ilya makes it his own. Hot off the press is a work by young Sydney-based composer Harry Sdraulig, while the Concerto for String Orchestra from Poland’s Grażyna Bacewicz puts the Australian Chamber Orchestra’s (ACO) brilliance in the spotlight with life-affirming vigour, optimism and shimmering beauty.

Presented by Australian Chamber Orchestra


  • Director & Violin Ilya Gringolts
  • Australian Chamber Orchestra


  • Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor, Op.26 Max Bruch (arr. Bernard Rofe)
  • String Symphony No.13 in C minor “Symphoniesatz” Felix Mendelssohn
  • Slanted* Harry Sdraulig
  • Polyptyque Frank Martin
  • Concerto for String Orchestra Grażyna Bacewicz
  • *World Premiere. Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra
A hugely impressive display of apparently effortless technical mastery delivered with nonchalant playfulness
Sydney Morning Herald

You may also like