Southern Cross Soloists A Moment in Time

19 Jun 2022
Concert Hall, QPAC
1 hour 30 minutes
(no interval, subject to change without notice)
$80 *
* A transaction fee of $7.20 applies.

A Moment in Time explores some of life’s defining moments, from the sentimental and evocative to the ironic and witty, in a poignant program of nostalgic works. The concert opens with the virtuoso arias di bravura of Vivaldi performed on the oboe, and Konstantin Shamray performing Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2. This stunning work of exquisite beauty and poetic expressiveness was said to be inspired by Chopin’s own experience of unrequited love. The program features the world premiere of a new work by acclaimed Australian/Los Angeles-based composer Leah Curtis in the second work of the 2022 Southern Cross Soloists (SXS) Didgeridoo Commissioning Project. Tchaikovsky’s wistful and tragic Lensky’s Aria follows in a new version featuring SXS flute player Jonathan Henderson.

The concert finishes on a lighter note as we follow the adventures in medieval Europe of the charmingly mischievous rogue Till Eulenspiegel, from his pranks on the rich and powerful to his untimely death at the gallows.

Presented by QPAC and Southern Cross Soloists


Vivaldi Il Giustino, RV 717: "Vedrò con mio diletto"
            La fida ninfa, RV 714: Alma oppressa da sorte crudele
Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21
Leah Curtis World Premiere new work for SXS and Didgeridoo as part of the SXS Didgeridoo Commissioning Project
Tchaikovsky Kuda, kuda vï udalilis (Lensky's Aria) Eugene Onegin
Strauss, R. Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks, Op. 28

SXS Didgeridoo Commission Project

SXS are committed to nurturing First Nation's representation in their arts practices to promote cultural understanding. Their renewed focus for 2022-2032 is to respond to this commitment by creating the ‘SXS Didgeridoo Commission Project': a legacy of new Australian works for didgeridoo and small ensemble with our Artist in Residence, Wakka Wakka didgeridoo soloist Chris Williams.

For their 2022 Season, Southern Cross Soloists will commission three new 8-10 minute works for didgeridoo and small ensemble to be premiered in their 2022 QPAC Concert Series. These commissions form part of a legacy project that is committed to creating a substantial canon of works for didgeridoo and small ensemble over the next 10 years.

To find out more visit: southernxsoloists.com/dcp

You may also like